Tradeify vs FTMO: Futures Funding or Forex/CFD Prop Trading?

Tradeify is a US-based futures-first prop firm offering challenge accounts from $25,000 to $150,000+ across three program tiers: Lightning, Growth, and SELECT. It supports nine trading platforms, including Tradovate, NinjaTrader, and MetaTrader, and allows both EAs and copy trading. FTMO, by contrast, operates a forex-focused model with 1-Step and 2-Step challenges and significantly higher maximum leverage (100 vs. 30). This review evaluates whether Tradeify's futures specialization, multi-platform flexibility, and daily payout options suit your trading style, or whether FTMO's broader asset scope and leverage justify its higher cost-per-lot.
Quick verdict: Futures-first with forex optionality
Choose Tradeify if you trade futures, micro contracts, or index derivatives; need multiple platform integrations; want to withdraw daily or every 5 days; and accept 4% max drawdown rules on challenge accounts.
Best for:
- Futures day traders scaling from $25K to $150K accounts
- Traders using Tradovate or NinjaTrader exclusively
- Accounts requiring daily payout cycles
- Systematic traders deploying EAs on cTrader, MT5, or Sierra Chart
Avoid if:
- You need 100:1 leverage (Tradeify caps at 30:1)
- You trade predominantly forex or crypto spot markets
- You require very tight spreads across equities CFDs
- You are located in a restricted country (57 territories excluded, including Australia, Brazil, China, France)
Main pros:
- Frequent payouts: Daily or 5-day cycles (Growth and SELECT tiers) via 20+ withdrawal methods
- 9 trading platforms: Tradovate, NinjaTrader, MetaTrader 4/5, cTrader, TradingView, Quantower, Sierra Chart, Rithmic
- EA and copy trading allowed: cTrader, MT5, Traders Connect (0-delay copy), Tradesyncer, Sierra Chart supported
- News trading permitted: Across all challenge phases
- No overnight/weekend hold restrictions on Growth accounts: More flexibility for swing positions
- Instant Phase (Lightning): Skip profit targets, pay only for drawdown coverage
Main cons:
- Low maximum leverage: 30:1 limits position size on micro contracts
- High commission per lot: $1.82 per round-turn (FTMO charges $5, but forex-denominated)
- Strict consistency rules: 40% minimum profit consistency on Growth/SELECT challenges
- Overnight/weekend restrictions on SELECT: Limits swing or position trading on that tier
- Limited asset scope vs. FTMO: No equities CFDs, limited commodity universe
- Progressive drawdown caps (Lightning Funded): Rules relax over payouts, adding complexity
Pricing/rules snapshot:
| Program | Size | Entry | Profit Target | Max Drawdown | Payout Frequency | Platform |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lightning (Instant) | $25K | $71 | None | 4% | N/A | Tradovate |
| Growth (Challenge) | $25K | $55 | 6% | 4% | 5 day | Tradovate |
| SELECT (Challenge) | $25K | $71 | 6% | 4% | Daily | Tradovate |
| Growth (Challenge) | $50K | $97 | 6% | 4% | 5 day | NinjaTrader |
| SELECT (Challenge) | $50K | $111 | 6% | 4% | Daily | NinjaTrader |
| Lightning (Instant) | $100K | $400 | None | 4% | N/A | NinjaTrader |
| SELECT (Challenge) | $100K | $172 | 6% | 3% | Daily | Tradovate |
| SELECT (Challenge) | $150K | $240 | 6% | 3% | Daily | Tradovate |
For Lightning Funded accounts (not shown), consistency starts at 20% for the first payout and relaxes to 25%, then 30%.
Last verified: September 10, 2026
Source confidence: High. Pricing and rules verified against Tradeify's official pricing reference and Tradeify's public policies. Payout methods sourced from official support articles; exact URL for full payout list incomplete in source archive.
Pricing and account sizes: Lightning, Growth, and SELECT tiers from $25K to $150K+
Tradeify structures pricing by program tier and account size. Three core programs:
- Lightning (Instant Phase): No profit target. You pay only for drawdown coverage. Entry costs range from $71 ($25K) to $510 ($150K).
- Growth (Challenge Phase): Standard 6% profit target; entry from $55 ($25K) to $185 ($150K); 40% consistency rule applies.
- SELECT (Challenge Phase): Daily payouts; 6% profit target; entry from $71 ($25K) to $240 ($150K); 40% consistency; overnight and weekend holds forbidden.
The smallest account starts at $55. The largest documented in the research is $150K. Tradeify's maximum allocation reaches $1,000,000 across scaled accounts, though challenge pricing for the full ladder isn't provided in the research.
Maximum leverage is capped at 30:1 across all accounts.
Commission per lot is $1.82, meaningfully higher than competitors, and applies uniformly across all platforms and programs.
Evaluation and trading rules: Profit targets, consistency rules, and news trading allowances

Profit Targets and Consistency
Lightning skips profit targets entirely. You move to a Funded Phase with progressive consistency rules: 20% first payout, 25% second, 30% thereafter.
Growth requires 6% profit to pass. You must also hit 40% of your max daily profit on 40% of your trading days. That's the consistency rule.
SELECT? Same 6% profit target. Same 40% consistency. But you get daily payouts once funded.
Consistency rules are stricter on funded Lightning accounts than on challenge phases. A trader hitting $1,000 in max daily profit must achieve $400 profit on 40% of trading days; this can create conflicts with low-volume or discretionary trading.
Minimum Trading Days and Activity Requirements
Lightning (Instant, $25K) has no minimum trading days specified.
Growth varies. Some sizes show no explicit minimum; $50K Growth on NinjaTrader shows 1 minimum trading day.
SELECT requires 3 minimum trading days across all sizes.
News Trading
Allowed. All challenge phases. Lightning, Growth, SELECT. This differentiates Tradeify from platforms that restrict trades around economic releases.
Overnight and Weekend Holding Restrictions
Lightning and Growth at most sizes? No overnight or weekend holding restrictions mentioned.
SELECT is different. Overnight holding not allowed. Weekend holding not allowed. Positions must be closed by end of day. This applies to all SELECT sizes, both platforms.
Some Growth accounts at $50K, $150K on NinjaTrader show overnight and weekend restrictions. The $25K and $100K+ Growth accounts on Tradovate don't specify restrictions. Clarification recommended from Tradeify support.
The SELECT tier's intraday-only rule suits day traders and scalpers but excludes swing trading strategies.
EA and Copy Trading
Both are allowed. Supported platforms for automation:
- EAs: cTrader, MetaTrader 5, Sierra Chart, and any strategy owned exclusively (not HFT, proof of ownership required)
- Copy trading: Traders Connect (zero-delay copying, cross-platform bridge), Tradesyncer (cloud-based; supports Tradovate, Rithmic, NinjaTrader), WealthCharts (advanced charting, DOM, Trade Copier)
Hedging is not allowed on TradingView, NinjaTrader, or Tradovate, no opposing positions on the same or correlated instruments, even across multiple accounts. Martingale is permitted if non-hedging.
Drawdown and risk rules: Progressive caps and overnight holding restrictions by program

Maximum Drawdown by Program
Lightning (Instant, all sizes): 4% max drawdown.
Growth (all sizes): 4% max drawdown.
SELECT ($25K, $50K): 4% max drawdown.
SELECT ($100K, $150K): 3% max drawdown. Tighter.
Drawdown is calculated from account opening or the highest peak, depending on the firm's methodology. The 3% cap on SELECT at $100K+ creates high risk of disqualification on volatile days.
Lightning Funded Phase Complexity
Once you pass the Instant (challenge) phase and are funded, Lightning accounts adopt progressive consistency rules rather than fixed drawdown caps. Consistency starts permissive (20%) and stiffens over payouts (25%, then 30%), creating an incentive to trade steadily but introducing uncertainty about funded-phase rules in the research.
Overnight and Weekend Holding
Growth and Lightning: Most sizes allow overnight and weekend holds (noted as "N/A" in research, meaning no restriction).
SELECT: No overnight. No weekend. Intraday closure mandatory on all SELECT accounts.
This rule split forces SELECT traders into a day-trading or swing-into-cash posture, incompatible with multi-day or position-holding strategies.
Summary Table: Drawdown + Holding Restrictions
| Program | Size | Max Drawdown | Overnight Hold | Weekend Hold |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lightning | $25K, $150K | 4% | Varies | Varies |
| Growth | $25K, $150K | 4% | Allowed* | Allowed* |
| SELECT | $25K, $50K | 4% | Not Allowed | Not Allowed |
| SELECT | $100K, $150K | 3% | Not Allowed | Not Allowed |
*Growth at $50K, $150K on NinjaTrader shows overnight/weekend restrictions in research; $25K and $100K+ on Tradovate do not specify restrictions. Clarification recommended from Tradeify support.
Payouts and profit split: Daily to 5-day frequency with multi-method withdrawals
Payout Frequency
Lightning: N/A, no funded phase payout frequency specified in challenge; assumes managed separately.
Growth: 5-day frequency. Paid every 5 calendar or trading days.
SELECT: Daily frequency. Paid every trading day or calendar day; clarification needed.
Daily payouts on SELECT suit traders requiring immediate capital rotation or cash flow. The 5-day cycle on Growth reduces administrative overhead but delays capital deployment.
Withdrawal Methods
Tradeify offers 21+ payout methods:
- Crypto: USDT, USDC, stablecoins, general crypto
- Bank transfers: ACH wire, ACH, local bank accounts (India supported), Wise, Revolut
- E-wallets and specialized services: Rise Pay, Rise Wallet (USDC or fiat), Plane, Deel, PayPal
- Automated payouts: Bulk, recurring, scheduled
This breadth exceeds most peers and accommodates international traders and those with crypto preferences.
Profit Split / Commission Model
The research doesn't specify Tradeify's profit split (e.g., 80/20, 70/30, trailing drawdown recovery). Commission is charged per lot ($1.82) rather than as a percentage of profit; this shifts cost structure toward volume. A 100-lot day incurs $182 in round-trip commission, which may exceed profit on small moves.
Payment Methods (Deposit)
Crypto, Bank Transfer, E-wallet, Credit Card, Crypto Payments.
Platforms and instruments: Tradovate, NinjaTrader, and nine other trading terminals
Trading Platforms (9 Total)
- Tradovate, Futures-native, lowest latency for micro contracts
- NinjaTrader, Multi-asset, charting, DOM
- MetaTrader 4, Forex/CFD standard
- MetaTrader 5, Equities, forex, indices; EA support
- cTrader, Equities CFD, EA support, DOM
- TradingView, Charts and alerts (no hedging allowed)
- Quantower, Advanced multi-window layout
- Sierra Chart, Tick charts, volume profile, EA support
- Rithmic, Alternative data feed, low-latency routing
The range accommodates day traders (Tradovate, NinjaTrader), swing traders (cTrader, Sierra Chart), and chart-focused traders (TradingView, Quantower).
Asset Classes and Instruments
Tradeify specializes in futures and derivatives:
- Index futures: E-mini S&P 500 (MES), E-mini Nasdaq (MNQ), Micro Russell (M2K), Stoxx Europe 600
- Forex: Major and minor pairs via MT4/MT5
- Commodities: Energy (crude, natural gas), grains (wheat, corn, soybeans), livestock (cattle, hogs)
- Metals: Gold, silver (COMEX futures)
- Volatility: VIX and VSTOXX
- Bonds and rates: Euro Buxl, US Treasury futures
- Stocks: Equities via cTrader and MetaTrader 5 (CFD model, not direct access)
No cryptocurrency spot or leverage trading is listed; crypto is limited to stablecoin payouts. Equities are available as CFDs on MT5 and cTrader but not as futures on Tradovate or NinjaTrader.
Leverage
Maximum 30:1 leverage applies uniformly. This suffices for micro contracts (1/10th notional of standard) but constrains position sizing on full-size ES or NQ. Traders accustomed to 50:1 or 100:1 forex leverage will find the cap restrictive.
How it compares: Tradeify vs FTMO on speed, leverage, and asset scope
This comparison draws on verified public rules, official pricing pages, and platform support.
Head-to-Head Summary
| Criterion | Tradeify | FTMO |
|---|---|---|
| Primary asset class | Futures (indices, commodities, bonds) | Forex, crypto, equities CFDs, indices |
| Max leverage | 30:1 | 100:1 |
| Challenge models | Lightning (instant), Growth, SELECT | 1-Step, 2-Step |
| Smallest account | $25,000 | Not specified (starts ~$10K, $50K typical) |
| Largest account | $150K challenge (up to $1M allocation) | $200,000 |
| Entry cost ($25K equivalent) | $55, $71 | Unknown (2-step pricing not in research) |
| Commission per lot | $1.82 | $5.00 |
| Payout frequency | Daily (SELECT) or 5-day (Growth) | Not specified in research |
| Platforms | 9 (Tradovate, NinjaTrader, MT4/5, cTrader, TradingView, etc.) | 4 (MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView) |
| EAs allowed | Yes (cTrader, MT5, Sierra Chart, Tradesyncer, etc.) | Yes (MT5, cTrader) |
| Copy trading allowed | Yes (Traders Connect, Tradesyncer, WealthCharts) | No |
| News trading | Allowed | Not specified |
| Drawdown (challenge) | 4% (or 3% on SELECT $100K+) | Unknown |
| Min trading days | 0-3 depending on tier | Unknown |
| Restricted countries | 57 (including AU, BR, CN, FR, IL, SG, US not explicitly listed) | 54 (including US, BY, IR, PK, RU, UA, VN) |
Key Differences
Leverage and position sizing: FTMO's 100:1 leverage suits forex pairs (EUR/USD moves ~100 pips/day) and crypto volatility (BTC moves 3-5% daily). Tradeify's 30:1 accommodates micro futures (MES notional $5 per tick) but limits full-size ES (notional $50 per tick) position counts. If you trade ES exclusively, FTMO or a direct futures broker may offer better capital efficiency.
Asset breadth: FTMO covers forex, crypto, equities (Apple, Tesla, etc. as CFDs), indices, commodities, and exotics. Tradeify covers futures, forex, commodities, and bonds, no spot equities. If you trade tech stocks or BTC spot, FTMO is broader.
Platform friction: Tradeify supports Tradovate and NinjaTrader natively; if you use one of these platforms, you avoid MT4/5 learning curves. FTMO requires MetaTrader or cTrader. Traders deeply embedded in Tradovate (especially day traders) will find Tradeify seamless; forex traders on MT4 will find FTMO seamless.
Payout speed: Tradeify's daily payouts (SELECT tier) outpace FTMO's unspecified schedule. If you withdraw daily, Tradeify is faster.
Copy trading: Tradeify permits copy trading; FTMO doesn't. Portfolio traders or those running sub-account strategies may prefer Tradeify's flexibility.
Costs for high volume: At 100 lots/day, Tradeify costs $182/day ($1.82 × 100). FTMO at 10 micro lots (equivalent notional) would cost $50/day ($5 × 10). For high-frequency scalpers, FTMO's higher per-lot cost may be offset by lower volume. For swing traders, Tradeify's $1.82 is more competitive.
When to choose each firm
Choose Tradeify if you trade micro ES/NQ, use Tradovate or NinjaTrader, need daily payouts, or run copy-trading strategies.
Choose FTMO if you trade forex pairs, crypto, equities CFDs, or require 100:1 leverage and don't need copy trading.
For a deeper analysis, see How to evaluate prop firm payout rules and withdrawal and How to choose a prop firm for swing trading step by step.
Frequently asked questions
Can I trade cryptocurrencies on Tradeify?
No. Tradeify doesn't offer spot or leveraged crypto trading. However, you can receive payouts in stablecoins (USDT, USDC) and use those off-platform for crypto trading. The firm's asset list includes futures, forex, commodities, and bonds, no digital assets.
What happens if I exceed the 4% drawdown on a Growth account?
Your account is disqualified and the challenge ends. You forfeit the entry fee and must restart a new challenge if you wish to continue. The 4% drawdown is calculated from either account opening or your highest peak; Tradeify's exact methodology isn't clarified in the research. Contact Tradeify support to confirm peak vs. opening baseline for your account.
Do I have to pay the $1.82 commission per lot on a funded Lightning account?
Yes. Commission is charged uniformly across all programs and phases. On a 100-lot day, you incur $182 in round-trip costs. This is factored into profit calculations; ensure your strategy's edge covers commission before entering.
Can I hold positions overnight on a SELECT account?
No. SELECT accounts have strict intraday-only rules: no overnight holding and no weekend holding. All positions must be closed by end of day. If you trade swing or multi-day strategies, use the Growth tier instead, which allows overnight and weekend holds (with platform-specific restrictions on some sizes).
Are EAs allowed, and which platforms support them?
Yes. Supported platforms for algorithmic trading include cTrader, MetaTrader 5, Traders Connect (zero-delay cross-platform copy), Tradesyncer (cloud-based for Tradovate, Rithmic, NinjaTrader), Sierra Chart, and WealthCharts. Your strategy must be owned exclusively by you (not licensed from a third party or HFT). Hedging via EA is forbidden on TradingView, NinjaTrader, and Tradovate.
How long does it take to get funded after passing the challenge?
The research doesn't specify approval timelines. Contact Tradeify support for clarity on funding delays and first-payout timing. Refer to What a payout certificate proves, and what it does not for context on payout verification if you later claim funded status.